• 2 Post By gambcl
  • 1 Post By adalangdon
  • 2 Post By Frank II
  • 1 Post By Wags455
  • 1 Post By Hawaii
  • 3 Post By Wags455

Thread: Suggestions for a 2 week trip to Europe over Christmas

Suggestions for a 2 week trip to Europe over Christmas

My fiance and I have the opportunity to travel to Europe over Christmas break (he is a student and I'm a teacher). We will definitely be visiting friends in London for 3-4 days, but we aren't sure where we should go after that. Our travel dates are roughly between December 19-Jan 3 travelling from the NYC area.

Does anyone have any tips for winter travel in Europe or a good recommendation for where to go and what to see? We're having trouble narrowing down a destination after London, so I'd love to hear what you all think!

Thanks!

You might take a look at this thread:

Which European country would you visit if you had a week?

(though it doesn't focus on winter travel)

I was once in Istanbul for four days, in February, while they were having a cold spell (four degrees!) and I was running a fever. Even so, it was one of my favorite trips ever! Can't go wrong - the food is pretty great across the board, fascinating sights to see (many of them indoors, if the weather is bad), wonderful shopping, centuries of history and culture to absorb.

Another trip I've always wanted to do is to stay at the Ice Hotel in Sweden. What could be more wintery?!

I've also heard that Christmas in Germany is amazing (or alternately, Christmas in Italy). (Not to say that Christmases elsewhere aren't wonderful! ) If Italy: Venice or Rome (imagine the Pantheon in a snowstorm!!) would probably be fantastic, with far fewer tourists to cross your path.

I'm not sure where exactly to focus your travels, but those would be my starting points for research.

Hope you have a fabulous trip - come back and post pictures!! (With your bags in the foreground, of course. )
    Last edited by haraya; 09-07-2014 at 04:50 PM.