Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree25Likes

Thread: Auronaut and Easyjet

Auronaut and Easyjet

I am a newbie! About two weeks ago a coworker of mine merely mentioned the words "Tom Bihn" on a Facebook post and started a stream of events and research on my part that resulted I a visit to the Tom Bihn store / factory last week and $650+ spent on "stuff" I've become really quite fascinated with the idea of traveling without checking in. Even more exciting is that my wife is interested in this too - a major shock!

Anyway, part of the interest is the fact that my wife and I have our 25th anniversary trip planned for September - just under 3 weeks in Paris, Rome, Tuscany and a quick return to Paris before returning to Seattle. Our airlines are Icelandic Air, EasyJet and Air France. And EasyJet is worrying me...

I made the mistake of booking the trip a while back and included our usual two bags to be checked in. As far as I am aware, the fact that I paid for that is a done deal (they don't refund baggage fees). I find that borderline unethical (that they won't refund baggage fees, when we have no plans to change the flight) but that's a separate discussion.

But I am concerned about the EasyJet hand baggage restrictions, which I understand to be 50 x 40 x 20 cm if I want to be assured of being able to take it on board. I have an Aeronaut and this was based on the statement on the Tom Bihn site that it's "Designed to qualify as a maximum-size airline carry-on bag". It's 55 cm long, of course. I guess the lack of a rigid frame helps here but it also means I will have to leave a fair bit of space unused. Then again, I've seen comments on here that the Tri Star is the largest Tom Bihn bag that will realistically be feasible on EasyJet.