Like Tree8Likes
  • 2 Post By backpack
  • 2 Post By mjpinter
  • 2 Post By NWhikergal
  • 2 Post By ClaireJ

Thread: Which bags are right for me?

Which bags are right for me?

I'm looking for some advice for what to buy. Here are the details:

I'm a PhD student and travel to conferences somewhat frequently. I've been bringing a rolling carry-on bag (clothes for 2 - 5 days in packing cubes, a pair of shoes) and a backpack (13'' macbook air, ipad air, kindle paperwhite, travel tray filled with misc stuff, snacks) with me. I also visit my family for longer amounts of time (1 - 2 weeks), but have access to laundry and so still generally don't need more than 5 days worth of clothes. I really want to get rid of the rolling bag and replace it with a Tom Bihn carry-on sized bag, but am a little nervous about carrying a large bag. Getting to the airport often involves and walking and public transportation, and I'm 5'3''. I'm guessing that it would work better to wear my carry-on as a backpack at least some of the time.

However, if I was wearing my carry-on as a backpack, I'd need my personal item to be a briefcase / messenger bag type thing and not a backpack. I really like having a backpack once I get to my destination - I use it to bring my laptop / ipad to the conference, take day trips to NYC, go hiking, etc. I really like that backpacks hold a laptop but aren't super flat - you can stuff in a sweatshirt or the travel tray.

Any suggestions on what bags I should buy? Let me know if there's any other information about my travel habits that would be useful. Thanks in advance!

There are many people in the education field in this forum, since it is close to back to school, they might be quite busy and haven't seen your post.

Given your packing requirement and body size, I would suggest the Western Flyer with a Dyneema Daylight Backpack used as a Packing Cube while travelling then a Backpack at your destination.