Shop Tom Bihn
1-800-729-9607
emailus@tombihn.com
Tom Bihn Forums: Community discussion on travel bags, laptop bags, and backpacks. Tom Bihn has been designing and making bags since 1972. The best materials and innovative construction.

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By bermudajes

Thread: Does Tri-Star typically pass as personal carry-on item?

Does Tri-Star typically pass as personal carry-on item?

Just got my Tristar in Navy/Iberican and am very pleased with what I see so far. Craftsmanship and materials live up to everything I've read online. I'm a professional photographer and typically travel in 3-5 day bursts. My usual carry-on is a rolling ThinkTank camera case and I may stuff some clothes in a Filson tote if it's a short trip or will check in a small 20" rollaboard suitcase if it's an extended trip. However, I'm hoping that with the Tristar, I can get away with carrying it on as my personal item since it appears that the Tristar fits under most seats.

Has anyone had experience in having the Tristar as a personal item and having a second (larger) carry-on bag? I typically fly United and the Tristar technically is larger than the personal item size specs (United: 10x17x9" / Tristar: 13x19x8"), but curious if most gate agents overlook the bag if it's handheld vs rolling.

I would think not but have never tried. I would not even try to pass my wf as a personal item.

@maverick has a great thread post where the Western Flyer fit as a Personal Carry-on:

Western Flyer fits United's personal item sizer

I have never tried to put a Tri-Star as Personal Carry-on. But, if I were, I would get the Dyneema version which can be compressed more than the ballistic nylon version. But, even then, I do not have much hope it would work (spotty at best, IMHO). But, you never know.

Note also that the personal sizers are actually an inch bigger than the stated dimensions in front for the height and width (e.g. the Personal sizer is actually 18 x 11 when the limit is 17 x 10).