Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree60Likes

Thread: Aeronaut 30/45 or Tristar

Aeronaut 30/45 or Tristar

Newbie here. I have read so many descriptive and intelligent posts about Tom Bihn bags that I just can't seem to pinpoint what would be the best for me.

I am traveling to Europe for 3 weeks in September. I am having a very hard time deciding between: Aeronaut 30, Aeronaut 45 and the Tristar.

I am a woman, average height and weight (5'6"), and I am planning on packing:
    -2 shoes (very slim)
    -5 unmentionables and socks (1 bra, as this adds more bulk)
    -3-5 tanks
    -5 shirts
    -2 pants or skirts
    -1 dress
    -2 pair tights/hosiery
    -scarf
    -small makeup bag
    -small toiletries bag
    -1 small jewelry bag
    -1 curling iron
    -small medicine bag (saline nasal rinse bottle adds a bit of bulk)
    -chargers
    -headphones
    -travel pillow
    -thin tablet/computer

This is a bit detailed and I hope I'm not leaving anything out. I'm going in September so clothing won't be too bulky. I will be carrying a purse/small messenger cross body style bag for things like passport, money, everyday stuff, etc. I read reviews on having an all Tom ensemble, but to be honest- the smaller packs for day use are a bit lacking in the fashion department for a woman.

I was sold on the regular Aeronaut (45L) at first. But, it seems pretty large and I am not sure I want to look like I have a gigantic duffle on my back; and of course I want to make sure I can carry it on (perception is reality here as we know). When I read about the smaller Aeronaut (30)- I was super excited. However, I'm worried it might be too small. Goldilocks problem here The Tristar is still in the mix because I love the design aesthetically and in my perfect world that would be the bag for me. But, I've read that after packing for more than a week of travel the Tristar is a bit bulgy and looks overstuffed.