Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By atarango1

Thread: Best bag for Academic "Business" Travel

Best bag for Academic "Business" Travel

So a question for the Bihn-board hive-mind.

I'm thinking of purchasing an Aeronaut or Tri-Star.

I've thought about it seriously for a while now, but my latest trip cemented it in my mind.

I travel a lot, but not a total frequent-flyer amount. I'm a college professor, and I live far from my family and friends. Any given year I usually take about 10-12 round trip flights and multiple road trips. I've classed my trips into three types:

1. Long visits with Family in which I usually check a suitcase (once, maybe twice a year.)

2. Week-long research trips, long conferences, workshops or visiting friends. I can get about a week's worth of clothes in your average carry-on bag with wheels thanks to my Eagle Creek packing cubes and ninja packing skills. I usually travel with my Synapse 25 as my personal item and a wheeled-carry-on bag

3. Short trips of 2-3 days, for short conferences, speaking engagements and family emergencies (think: funerals, etc)

It for # 3 that I am thinking of getting a Tri-Star or Aeronaut. At the moment I have a small wheeled carry-on (the kind that just barely fits under the seat in front of you.) and it isn't weighted well and it often tips over, etc. And I am just tired of it. Its hard to navigate and its just big enough to be a pain.