Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Nolo

Thread: Keep Smart Alec or return it for a Synapse 25?

Question Keep Smart Alec or return it for a Synapse 25?

Hi, all!

While my collection of Tom Bihn products has grown fast and furiously, this is my first time posting. I just received a Smart Alec yesterday to use as my walking to school/work bag. It normally needs to carry some combination of papers, the Field Journal Notebook, my lunch (preferably flat in the bag), books, a pair of shoes, a kit, a 13in MBA, plus all the normal stuff (wallet, phone, etc.). No surprise, all that stuff fits comfortably in the bag.

The question is really about the fit of the bag. The bottom corners of the bag are pointy and have to potential to be uncomfortable. So my first question is whether you think those corners will soften with time. (I'm short so the bottom of the bag hits, well, my bottom.) I hadn't focused on the bottom of the bag when I was (obsessively) checking out pictures, videos, forum posts, etc. Now that the bag is here I checked out the Synapse 25 and noticed for the first time that the bottom of the bag is more rounded. So I guess my second question is whether the Synapse would fit all the stuff listed above and whether the bag would be too long. (My hunch is all the stuff would fit since the SA and Synapse 25 are more or less the same size - the question is whether my lunch bag could be flat in the bag; think of a container about 5.5 in square).

FYI - I'm already considering ordering the Synapse 25 so I can do an in-home comparison. And, to anticipate a question and/or suggestion, I already have the Synapse 19 (see earlier comment re: collection growing fast and furiously) and, so far, I've found it to be a bit too small to fit everything easily.

Thanks for any insights!