Thread: Smart Alec

Smart Alec

Hi guys,

Just purchased a Smart Alec with top pouch, a SideKeeper, a and some tool straps. I found about your bags on the EDC Forum.

I am a firefighter/fire investigator and am planning to use the Smart Alec for a daily bag and a call out bag. I carry an IPad daily and am wondering the best way to pack it in my bag, would a cache with rails work? My IPad has a Logitech keyboard which adds a little bulk to it. I only take it to work and never to the fire ground.

I am also looking foward to tether some of my tools onto/into the bag with the keykeepers and I am not sure which pouches I am going to need just yet, there are so many choices.

I don't think I will use the SideKeeper with the bag, maybe use it as a fanny pack, but who knows.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me,

John

I don't think the Smart Alec has the Gate Keeper mount points inside the bag for a Cache on Rails. It does have Annex clips for hooking in a Brain Cell though. You could either just use any sleeve case like the Cache and just left it float within the bag, or perhaps try the smallest size Brain Cell (13" MacBook Air?). With the Logitech keyboard, that might take up enough room in the Brain Cell that the iPad won't rattle around much in it, but you'd have to check the measurements.

Thanks for the info, even if I kept it loose in the bag inside of a cache that would be fine. Currently I am using a 511 Covrt 18 and I keep in the hydration area of the bag in a sleeve and it is just fine.

John

TOM BIHN Crew (we work here) Beau's Avatar