Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree26Likes

Thread: Various Backpack Straps

Various Backpack Straps

I'm new to backpacks, and just received my Synapse25. I'm curious--how many of you remove, or don't use the sternum strap, and the waist strap?? I loaded the backpack, and wonder if I'd really use those straps. Most of my use for this backpack is to replace my briefcase, and carry stuff to office and home.
    Last edited by rlandis; 04-30-2013 at 08:35 AM.
    Owner, Fool On The Hill Recording, Nashville TN

I have a Synapse 19 and removed the waist strap the first day, and kept the sternum strap. I almost never buckle it though! For the small load I carry, it never seems necessary. When I use my big load backpack, I always use the sternum strap. That one gets loaded with groceries and library books.

Volunteer Moderator
    hi rlandis!

congratulations on the purchase of your new synapse 25!

i don't use the sternum or waist strap on a daily basis, as i have a short walk from my car to my office. but i do fasten the sternum strap when i'm walking longer distances or moving fast (think: running through the airport, trying to make it to my gate before the flight closes).

I live a little South of Edinburgh in Scotland's border hills
    I use the sternum strap a lot, but not in the way you'd expect! As a wheelchair user, I usualy have my rucksack on the back of my chair. The sternum strap ensures that it can't fall off! Pre disability, I used a Lowe Alpine sack and generally used the sternum strap when walking or cycling, but my trusty old Karrimor of 1983 vintage didn't have one - it was great for walking, but without a sternum strap it wasn't so great on the bike.

The sternum & waist straps are still on my BB after 12 years ... but I don't think I've ever used them. Can't see taking cutters to my TB.
    [2003] Brain Bag (w/Snake Charmer & 3 Monolith/Brain Cells)
    - [2010] Aeronaut (w/Absolute, 1lg/2sm Packing Cubes, Travel Tray & 3D clear cube)