Shop Tom Bihn
1-800-729-9607
emailus@tombihn.com
Tom Bihn Forums: Community discussion on travel bags, laptop bags, and backpacks. Tom Bihn has been designing and making bags since 1972. The best materials and innovative construction.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree32Likes

Thread: Confession: I don't think I *want* to one-bag it for business travel...

Confession: I don't think I *want* to one-bag it for business travel...

I'm relatively new to the world of business travel, making a short trip (1-2 nights) every week or two. I'm also a One Bag devotee for non-business travel. Hoping to duplicate this for work, I even bought a Brain Bag last month, but just can't seem to get this right...

My work requires me to lead 3-hour hands-on events with equipment that is (usually) shipped from location to location and then hauled around locally either in my car or my rental car. Think two large Pelican cases of iPads and MacBook Airs. I have to be able to hook up an Apple TV to pretty much any projector in any space a customer has available for me. This means having a variety of dongles and adapters at the ready. For that reason, I was having a hard time keeping everything together in my ID when I'm local and then shifting to the Brain Bag when I'm on the road. Plus, the Brain Bag just doesn't work with a shirt and tie (for me, anyway).

I know I could "modularize" and I have to some extent with a Snake Charmer and pouches, I just hate the idea of flying somewhere and realizing I left something in my other bag. Too stressful.

And here's the other confession: When I'm traveling for work, I like to be comfortable. I want to carry a pair of running shoes so I can exercise or a pair of jeans to go out. I don't necessarily always want to be "minimal" when I'm away from my family for a couple nights.