EDC Suggestions with a caveat

Hi guys,

So I am getting a new computer for work (a 15" Macbook to replace my old Dell brick o' brick) and I am looking to upgrade my computer bag to something that I can use both as an everyday carry bag back and forth to the office, but also for travel.

I'm a college professor so I need a bag that can carry a computer and books and papers, but also one that won't let me overstuff it. This is really important since I have a balance disorder and at times I suffer from vertigo- I need to be able to carry stuff, but not so much that I am my own worst enemy, you know? (I have gone tumbling down stairs, and it's awkward when your students have to peel you off the floor like a rag doll. Or your colleagues.) I also want to be able to use this bag for travel as my personal item, (with or without computer)- usually I travel with my ipad and keyboard, my knitting and extra food since I have celiac disease- and I always use a roller-bag as my suitcase because I can't balance a bigger bag on me (I covet the aeronaut but that's a bad idea for someone like me.) It can be a backpack or a shoulder bag, although the backpack I might be able to handle better do to my sometimes off-kilter way of walking, and also because I have at times required the use of a cane or walking stick. I'm also fairly young (33) and I don't want something that looks too stuffy.

So with that in mind I have been considering the Synapse- but now that there is the 25, I am not sure if I should go bigger or smaller. Also the Zephyr, except it is in boring colors, and the cadet, which I am concerned may be too minimal for a travel bag. I love the Western Flyer, but I think it is too much as an every-day carry for me.