Like Tree9Likes
  • 8 Post By Miking
  • 1 Post By Lani

Thread: Bag Size Flight Limitations - Aeronaut and Western Flyer/Tri-Star

Bag Size Flight Limitations - Aeronaut and Western Flyer/Tri-Star

I've spent a lot of time trying to decide between the Aeronaut and the Western Flyer/Tri-Star. I finally took the plunge and purchased the Aeronaut last night! However, considering that I am a photographer and often will be bringing a decent amount of equipment/chargers/etc., I think it will be very likely that just the Aeronaut alone won't be enough space for a 2 month trip to the Philippines. Not certain which airline I'll be flying yet (it won't be one of the budget airlines with the strict one carry-on only limits), but I was wondering if anyone knows or has had any experience "one-bagging" with 2 carry ons? The Aeronaut would obviously be my main carry-on, but could I get away with the Western Flyer/Tri-Star as my personal item? This way I'd be able to use the Aeronaut for the photo gear and a few stuff sacks with socks and underwear and allow me to pack the rest of my clothing in the other bag.

ceb
    Hard to say as it really depends on the airline but trying to convince a gate agent that a TS is a "personal item" will be a stretch. A WF might be do-able but it still won't be easy and you may end up having to gate check to Aeronaut.

Me? I'd take an Aeronaut and a more traditional looking computer case like an Empire Builder.
    When in trouble, obfuscate.

As someone who used to fly with guitars all the time I feel as I might be able to help. I don't think this should be a problem at all if you follow some rules.

1. Put all your valuable items and in-flight items in one bag, worst case scenario-you will have to gate check one of your bags.
    2. Don't ask permission, ask forgiveness, never bring attention to your second carry on, if someone spots it tell them you plan on gate checking it further down the line even if you don't.