Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Brain Bag VS. Smart Alec?

Question Brain Bag VS. Smart Alec?

I've been rocking a Smart Alec for just over two years now. I love the bag and utilize it to its maximum potential. Which makes me think I need to upgrade to a larger bag. Anyone have any insight?

Here's what I need:

I currently use my Smart Alec to carry a mixed office when I travel for work. My bag usually contains a plethora of small items like keys, pens, IDs/passport, change, and the like. My main focus is on my 13" Macbook Pro + Vertical Brain Cell, a backup external hard drive, a Canon Rebel XT + Sigma 17-70 lens + Canon 50mm lens, a Snake Charmer packed to the gills (snakes don't have gills), plus I sometimes carry an accordion folder for papers, invoices, etc (maybe a Freudian Slip could help with this?). I'll also be adding an iPad into the mix in the near future. The camera and lenses I normally wrap inside of a hoodie. But I'm looking into grabbing an insert (like this one) to sit in the bottom of the bag, as I see no release date for Tom's camera insert in the near future.

Would a Brain Bag be an upgrade for me? Or should I stick with the Smart Alec?
    http://www.playthisrecord.com

My Tom Bihn arsenal
    Bags: Steel/Solar Aeronaut w/ Absolute Strap | Black/Steel Brain Bag | Black/Cardinal Tri-Star | Black/Steel/Solar Smart Alec
    Accessories: Camera I-O, Tripod Quiver, Brain Cell, Snake Charmer, Vertical Freudian Slip, Vertical iPad Cache, RFID Blocking Passport Pouch, Kit, Travel Tray, various Organizer Cubes & Pouches

Sounds like you're asking for agreement that you should buy the Brain Bag. So here it is: BUY THE BRAIN BAG. And definitely buy the Freudian Slip.

Seriously, is the Smart Alec overstuffed? If so, it's time to move up—so long as you don't mind carrying everything and the kitchen sink. And with a handle like leviathan, I'm guessing you're up to it.