Thread: A smaller Ego?

A smaller Ego?

Newbie here, very impressed with the Tom Bihn line and passion about quality. I love the looks of the Ego bags, but think even the Ego (as opposed to Super) would be a bit large. I was curious if there were any plans to release a third (smaller) Ego at some point?

I am coming out of a Booq backpack that has lasted close to 10 years...ballistic...very durable.

Thanks in advance.

Volunteer Moderator

the id

hello and welcome!

a smaller ego would be interesting (i know mine is pretty darned big! .

while the design is different than that of the ego and the superego, the id is a smaller messenger style bag.

Thanks, I had not really even considered the ID yet as I like the styling of the Ego...but I will have a look. Is it really that much smaller than the Ego?

Volunteer Moderator
    Quote Originally Posted by bltkmt View Post
    Thanks, I had not really even considered the ID yet as I like the styling of the Ego...but I will have a look. Is it really that much smaller than the Ego?
    hi!

i have an earlier generation id, and i've ordered an ego that will arrive this week. i'm going out of town but will be back next week and i will post some side by side pictures so you can see the difference

Thank you - that would be helpful. I really like the Ego as well, but am worried about its size. What drove you to it (from the ID)?

Volunteer Moderator
    i have an earlier generation id, and i really like it. but i haven't used it in a while - i've been using the large cafe bag or ruck's sac to carry my macbook, and the buzz or the smart alec when i carry my macbook pro.

even though the id is a messenger bag, i've always thought about it as a briefbag because i was in the mindset of looking for a briefbag when i got the id. so more than anything, i think it's a psychological thing.

even though the ego has more capacity than the id, i think it will feel more like a messenger bag, which is where my head is right now.