Shop Tom Bihn
1-800-729-9607
emailus@tombihn.com
Tom Bihn Forums: Community discussion on travel bags, laptop bags, and backpacks. Tom Bihn has been designing and making bags since 1972. The best materials and innovative construction.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    tiny rural town in the Piedmont of the Carolinas

So I'm going on a cruise in less than two weeks...

I've never done this type of trip before. I've been preoccupied with other 1st world problems and haven't put much energy into planning for this trip. We will mostly be in the Caribbean, and we will also port in Cozumel and in the Caymans. We are planning a few excursions like to visit some Mayan ruins, but most of the time will be on the ship. The littles are staying with my parents, so it will be just Mr. dorayme and I.

Those of you who are more seasoned travelers, any tips? Suggested attire? Suggested TB bags? Things that you have learned from your previous trips, or places I should try to go, things I should try to do? Thanks.
    I really, really like TB Bags!

The most helpful website I've seen is Cruise Reviews, Cruise Deals and Cruises - Cruise Critic.

Of course they give info for people deciding which cruise to go on. But for those already booked, people will review the ship, give insider tips, talk about whether the specialty restaurant on board is worth the extra charge, etc. Are there any "behind the scenes" tours? How early will they let us board? Can you order "off menu" in the Dining room? Which ports is it good to be on the cruise line sponsored tour, and which are good to do on your own? There will even be a "roll call" for specific voyages and people will organize a meet-up on board. "How dressed up do people get?" really varies by cruise line/ship/itinerary, but Cruise Critic will get specific.