Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree68Likes

Thread: First Aid Kits

First Aid Kits

Let me begin by asking how does one search the forum for posts and threads about first aid kits? I tried, but "first aid kit" is entirely composed of words that are too short, long, or common to search on. What a bummer. I'm sure we've talked about this before but I can't find those discussions. So, sorry if this is a duplicate thread (and please tell me where to find the other threads, if you know!).

I've been carrying a little first aid kit around for the last 3 years. The contents came from a kit I bought at Target: insect bite wipes, antibacterial wipes, bandaids, and stickers. Just the basics. I decanted them into a pen/pencil clear OP and tucked it into my Diaper Charmer. When Mr. Janine and the kids were in the wreck on Saturday, Mr. Janine used up most of the contents to patch up my MIL (she had scrapes on her arms from where she jostled up against the car seats).

I've never had to refill the first aid kit until now, so I'm debating whether to buy another complete kit or to source only the components that I need. I'm sure buying another kit will be the most cost-effective solution but a wee part of me wants to take more control over my emergency supplies. Plus I think it might be a good idea to make up additional kits to carry around.

What advice would you offer regarding small, easy-to-use first aid kits?

ps. I'm squeamish so things like needles and thread for makeshift sutures will totally creep me out. ;-)
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Inigo Montoya: You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.