Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By DPUTiger

Thread: Minimalist money clip for casual pocket

Minimalist money clip for casual pocket

My father and I work in construction. We are outdoors much of the time, for work and for play. In the summertime, he likes to wear thin-fabric athletic shorts. (The cloth kind with the elastic waistband.) In the winter, he wears denim jeans part of the time, but cloth sweatpants most of the time. With the exception of the jeans, most of his outdoor-wear does not offer the best pockets. (Often no rear pockets at all; only front-side pockets) He sees the shorts and the sweatpants as a necessity based on the season temperature.

My father stopped using his bulky old leather wallet years ago. The old wallet was so bulky it would only fit in his jeans. He never carries a wallet in his sweatpants or shorts. He has a nasty habit of carrying disorganized wads of cash, cards and ID in those pockets, and then he has to sort through them to find anything. I'm afraid he'll loose something valuable doing that. I was thinking any ordinary wallet might befall the same fate... and if he lost the wallet, he'd loose everything.

I have decided that the best way to proceed is to get my father a minimalist money clip. I was considering some funky wallets like the Tom Bihn Clear Organizer Wallet and some other slim designs from Warerfield Designs, but they just won't work for this. I've heard of money clips before, but I haven't shopped around. What is available in this category and what works well? I want to get him something that will work well and be durable. He needs something to haul around some cash, cards and IDs. Info on this product category would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

--MtnMan
    Owner of: Super Ego briefcase (Black / Indigo / Steel) with Reflective Strip, Brain Cell (Steel), Horizontal Freudian Slip, various Organizer Pouches and Key Straps, and a Side Effect (Black / Wassabi) worn as a belt-style hip-pack.