Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree20Likes

Thread: Anyone own both a Kindle and an iPad? Need advice

Anyone own both a Kindle and an iPad? Need advice

I finally broke down and purchased an iPad in May. It hadn't interested me all that much before then; that is, until Apple reduced the price drastically on 1st generation models (nearly $150). So I broke down and bought one, rationalizing the purchase because I'm a writer and freelance editor, and more and more of my friends and clients are doing a lot of e-publishing. (Two of my own YA novels recently were released as Kindle titles as well.) OK, so I really wanted a new toy!

For my own reading, I didn't think I'd be that interested in Kindle or iBooks titles, as the look, feel, design, and even smell of books is very important to me. Plus, I use inter-library loan for much of my reading. Otherwise, the walls of my house would fall down from the weight of all the books I'd buy. But to my surprise, I've enjoyed reading books on my iPad far more than I thought, and I can certainly see the value of e-books when trying to travel light. I use the free Kindle reader app on my iPad, and I've bought more Kindle titles than I would have expected.

I like my iPad because it renders books in color; the Kindle only handles grayscale. Because the iPad is backlit, I can read books in the dark; I understand that's not possible with the Kindle. I also like the fact that the iPad can do a multitude of different things beyond reading books. As far as I know, all you can do with a Kindle is read.

However, the Kindle weighs less and is smaller than the iPad, has much longer battery life, and it apparently does one thing well that my iPad cannot—the Kindle is readable outdoors. I do a lot of my reading outside, and that is a terrible experience on the iPad: too much glare. I'd looked into glare-reducing screen protectors, but most reviews of those say they don't help much.