Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree28Likes

Thread: Pilot

Pilot

Quality, as usual, is superb. I do regret, however, the lack of an O-ring in the center, front section. As someone who's older, and who has traveled a lot in places you can no longer get to easily to—and never carried a water bottle (tea water is boiled)—that center pocket would be more useful with an O-ring. Still, a great bag.

I agree about the water bottle pocket. I am fairly new to Tom Bihn and it's my one real complaint. Carrying a heavy water bottle around would be the last thing I'd want to do on a trip so I find the water bottle pocket troublesome. Even if I'm using the bag as a day bag, I'd be more likely to stop at a cafe to have water or buy a bottle of water and discard it when done than carrying a bottle of water around all day. I'm also generally carrying around electronics and I'm hesitant to carry water and electronics in the same bag. Plus, you can't get through airport security with water so you'd end up packing an empty bottle and presumably have to fill it up later. The best use I have found for the water bottle pockets has been a camera lens, although you'd want to wrap the lens for some added protection. I'm also experimenting with different sizes of the Travel Stuff Sacks to see how I can utilize them to make the water bottle pocket more useful for me. But clearly a lot of people like to carry around water. Perhaps in a gym bag. Perhaps in a hiking bag....but for everyday travel and longer trips, I don't have a need for one. I'll continue to look at old posts in this forum to see what creative ideas people have for the water bottle pocket. I'm sure I'll find many uses.

When not putting my Contigo autoseal vacuum travel mug, I use that pocket in my Co-Pilot to hold a compact umbrella or anything long and narrow/tubular - e.g. Bluetooth speaker - the UE Boom and Soundlink Mini fit in well for those holding mostly electronics.