Like Tree9Likes
  • 8 Post By jwiegley
  • 1 Post By Tlacltme

Thread: Reviewing the Smart Alec as a laptop bag

Reviewing the Smart Alec as a laptop bag

Hello all,

I'm new to Tom Bihn bags -- having only discovered them recently -- but am not new to the quest for a perfect system to carry around my laptop. My livelihood is computer programming, so the main requirement I have of any bag is that it transport my machine, anywhere I need to take it, in safety and security. I've learned the hard way that comfort and quality are nearly as important, which is what started me on this quest.

From that perspective, I'd like to review the Smart Alec. I purchased it with a Brain Cell, iPad Cache w/ rails, upper & lower modular pockets, and 3 small organizer pouches. It cost somewhere around $350 all told.

My first thoughts on opening the box were that this is certainly a well-made product. My second thought was that the back straps seemed a little skimpy compared to other bags I've used. However, usage, and education about seam-stitching and bar tacks, has completely reversed me on that second thought. Simply put, these are the best back straps I've encountered, and the most comfortable that I've used on any bag. In fact, they are not just comfortable: my back actually feels better with the pack on than off! I'm not sure how that works exactly, but I look forward to putting it on each day. It has come to be one of my favorite things about the bag, which I would not have expected from the beginning. To give you a point of reference, I'm 6'1" 190 lbs with fairly broad shoulders.

I also *love* the fact that I can reduce the amount of hardware on the bag. I'm so tired of bags that look like a "strap medusa", waiting to turn me into stone if I look too hard.