Like Tree14Likes
  • 13 Post By ablakey
  • 1 Post By Janine

Thread: Synapse - neurally connecting to a new path, I hope

Synapse - neurally connecting to a new path, I hope

The Purchase:
    I just received my new Synapse (Navy/Ultraviolet) and Aeronaut (Navy/Wasabi) this last week. I am a research scientist and therefore incapable of making a purchase of this sort without extensive analysis, reading of reviews, and watching youtube videos of the various bags available (not just Tom Bihn bags - sorry) for comparison. And, while I initially had been hoping to obtain the Navy/Wasabi version to make it easier to see items (I am getting older and so is my eyesight), the Navy/Ultraviolet version has quickly grown on me.

Initial Reason (Excuse?) for The Purchase:
    I had also order a number of pouches and key straps, a cache for a MBP 15", and packing cubes for the Aeronaut. My primary goal was to obtain the best quality gear for a trip to Bangladesh, both for packing light and for packing efficiently. I have not traveled internationally in 20 years. I am considering a MBAir 11" for traveling purposes. I was not concerned about the checked baggage weight limit, but the carry-on limit requires a re-assessment of my previous in-country travel approach, plus a roller bag will simply not be appropriate.

The Challenge: The carry-on bag will be limited to one (1) bag weighing no more than 7 kg, and the checked baggage limit is 23 kg. I know that I need to have on me or in my carry-on: documents (passport, etc), medications (it's no fun getting older), 3-1-1 bag, computer/electronics (I will be giving presentations), a camera (foolish not to take one), as well as a change of clothes (or at least a clean shirt since it will take 2 days to get to Dhaka).